My project build/ Expo trailer.

HAFICON

Adventurer
Well I had a thread running for my build I was goign to delete some post and I deleted the whole thread. I am gonna piece it back together with the highlights and continue on with the build/update.

I really never had any interest in an off-road trailer till I joined this forum and seen how functional and cool they can be. So I started out November 2014 really ruff not knowing how to weld not even having a welder. I picked up a cheap flux core welder to practice with and welding was an instant addiction. Before I knew what I did I had a Millermatic 211 on it's way :victory: . I have spent countless hours in Sketchup drawing and designing my trailer, once you learn how to use that program it is amazing especially for the free version.

I started drawing up multiple different designs all based off of a flat bed base so it would be multi purpose that design changes day by day.

The most up to date version: A flat bed for day to day use and plan was for it to have a removable Expo. bed.
Flat bed with fenders.jpg

Flat bed with fenders1.jpg

Flat bed with fenders2.jpg

Original bed idea this would attach to the frame with 6 bolts.
Body1.jpg

So I jumped into this head first knowing that I did not know much but planed to learn along the way and maybe come out with a new skill. So I went and picked up the metal for the frame started out with 3x2" square tubing 3/16 wall thickness.

IMG_3932.jpg

Spring perches welded on, I used the measurements from the springs and welded these on long before my axle was ordered but they came out perfect.
IMG_4015.jpg

I am missing a few photos but here is the basic frame assembled, with Rockwell american Dexture 3500lb axle mounted. Using two of the 315/70/17 wheel/tire combo from the JK till my trailer set up arrives.
IMG_4119.jpg

So with the axle mounted I went and picked up my order for steel.
IMG_4127.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_3956.JPG
    IMG_3956.JPG
    94.4 KB · Views: 215