my 1992 gmc sierra

jdog1

hello,
This is my first time posting here, Ive been lurking for a long time but never posting.This is my first truck.a 1992 GMC Sierra I call Grand Marshall Charles.... its a single cab long bed, with a 350 small block,4x4 and it came with a towing package from the factory. I want to put a bed platform in it for some expedition type trips. Can anyone who has built one before help me out and provides some tips/ideas?
Photo04061645_1.jpg

P.s. ill upload some better pics when I get home.

Many Thanks,
Jdog

underdrive

jackwagon
No tips on the platform, but that's a pretty nice truck you got there, 3/4-ton maybe (2500-series)? The 350 engine should you plenty of power AND fuel economy, both of which are needed for just getting out there and going places. Stick-shift or automatic? Factory seats kinda suck but truck itself rides quite nice, put in some nicer seats (later model ones should be a direct bolt-in) and you'll be nice and comfy on longer drives.

jdog1

yup 2500 series.probably the most gutless 350 Ive ever driven. but for now it gets me to school and back. And its an automatic. As for the seats do you mean out a of a 2015 or a late 90s early 2000 truck?

Rot Box

Explorer
Most of my friends and family had this era of GM when I was growing up. Imo it's really tough to beat the TBI 350's. Although they aren't a powerhouse by todays standards they're stupid simple and very reliable. When it comes to the front end they eat the cheap lifetime warranty components like candy (pitman/idler ball joints etc) so use the good stuff even if it costs more. Hopefully you have the 4L80E trans as well they're very stout..

One of these would be towards to top of my to-do list: http://4x4posi-lok.com

Anyway those pickups work really well right out of the box. I would give it a good tuneup and build your platform then his the road/trail.

Andrew

jdog1