So many standards means no standards

reachdean

Observer
This post is meant to provoke conversation, so feel free to pile on if you think I (or the links I post) don't line up with your viewpoint.

I have to say, as someone who worked in shops as a mechanic, as the mechanic on a 12,000km across-Africa bike tour, and now as a bike journalist/writer, I'm confounded by the astonishing apparent lack of forethought in bike design these days. It seems that the multitude of new standards on bikes these days (wheel, hub, headset, drivertrain, take your pick) sort of negated the idea of standards altogether. I'm no opponent of progress, but I despise the way bike manufacturers are designing things that are obsolete within the span of a couple years. This stuff isn't cheap, and even though I work in the industry and can get deals, it still isn't cheap. My most modern mountain bike is a 2008 Devinci Remix. It's a 5&5 full squish with Fox suspension, XT/XTR drivetrain, and DT Swiss wheels. It weighs about 27 lbs. New, it cost just under $4000. It's almost impossible to find a modern equivalent within those performance, price and weight constraints. In part, I suppose that's because it's a 26" wheel, and the enduro craze is pushing development of beefier bikes. But the thing is, I'm 150lbs sopping wet. I don't count ounces, but I do count pounds on a bike. I'm also gentle on gear, so a lighter bike usually doesn't get punished by me.