M1101 trailer build UEV 440 kinda

hamthis

Observer
Well Here it goes.

I have been a long time looker and now I am a builder. I have officially started construction on Saturday 4/25/15

I bought 2 M1101 Trailers back in December of 2014 Total cost minus gas to pick them up was $1200.00. I only wanted to build out one of them so I sold the second trailer for $1,300 so I'm $100 up from my initial purchase, woo who. Registration and title for the trailer cost was a whopping $89.00 so the rest of the build will now start to cost some money.

My idea for the build is as follows. I want to copy the UEV 440 Australian adventure trailer. Mainly because I can't buy one and they are 50k, They really have one of the coolest designs out there.
Here is the 440
uev-440-03.jpg

Here are my build ideas. I designed the M1101 in Google Sketchup. I do not have the tent portions on the sketchup file I will build them after I have the framing done.
M1101 .jpg

M1101 b.jpg

M1101 a.jpg

Here are the pictures of my trailer starting point.
IMG_0095.jpg

IMG_0096.jpg

IMG_0097.jpg

IMG_0098.jpg

IMG_0099.jpg

Last edited:

hamthis

Observer
Here is the first day of building.

I also just got some Hummer H2 tires and rims to lower the trailer down 2.5 inches.

IMG_0876.jpg

Here is what $250 will buy you at the steel store.
IMG_0875.jpg

IMG_0921.jpg

IMG_0919.jpg

IMG_0920.jpg

IMG_0922.jpg

IMG_0923.jpg

This is the progress after 1 day. I'm not sure it is going to go this fast from this point forward. But the skeleton is there.

hamthis

Observer
I'm not sure what the weight is going to be. I will being doing a final weight in the end of the build. I am hoping for less than 3k pounds but I have know idea. I am planning on pulling the trailer with a Chevy 2015 2500. This truck can easily pull 3k I have pulled our forklift which has a total lift and trailer weight of 9k pounds. I also am building the trailer to fit into my garage which has an opening height of 7'6"

hamthis

Observer