How many rounds in the cylinder of single actions?

gm13

Adventurer
Do you carry a full wheel or one shy? I've no single action experience yet, but I'm being called by an Uberti Top Break Schofield and just wondering about general consensus on that issue.

KiwiKurt

Explorer
I don't carry a revolver for the same reason I don't carry an atlatl, or a bow, or a broad sword.....they are an ancient weapon of a foregone era.

just kidding.

kind of....

I've always seen people carry full cylinders, and then cock the hammer when its time to fire. From a physical perspective, the likely hood of being able to get enough force behind a firing pin without the hammer striking it while the hammer is as rest is about zero or less. I think you would be just fine to carry it full cylinder hammer down. If I had one, I would. :shrug:

Cole S

I always carry an empty on the one under the hammer. I learned this when I was a kid on my dads single six. I really think that would have accidentally discharged if you did not do that. Better safe than sorry.

Wanderer1

I believe the older design made having the hammer on an empty a good idea but my modern Ruger has a gate of sorts to keep the hammer away from the pin.

robert

Expedition Leader