spirit guide for newbie purchase of 97 Montero LS

nbishop

Observer
Hello all,

I am new to the 4x4 world and have come across a 97 montero LS that is a good price for the mileage. I'm hunting for an SR but the deal may be too good to pass up. My goal is to have a reliable and inexpensive expo rig to take to the beaches, camping, general frolicking.

I've been reviewing posts here to find info on the following questions without luck. Any knowledge y'all can provide is greatly appreciated!

- can I procure and install aftermarket rear locking differential? I've read the entire rear axle system from the SR would need to be used. I'd prefer to have simple manual lockers all the way around. I'm unsure if they need to be montero specific or if they are designed for different axle sizes, etc.

-as someone that won't be doing much rock crawling, will the gearing differences between the LS and SR hold me back? Maybe more specifically, what situations may it hold me back? The 97 engine is the 3.5, so I should have a bit more power than earlier LS with the 3.0.

- as I will be doing a lot of my off roading in sand, would it be recommended to mount wider tires than are allowed on stock rims? I'd like to run 32 or 33s, preferably no aftermarket lift and minimal trimming. It makes sense that wider tires would play a big role in the sand, but not sure if 1-2" makes a difference if the psi is dropped. Since cheap is a goal, keeping stock rims is my preference (I'm looking at the 15x8 -19s mentioned in this thread:http://www.expeditionportal.com/for...3?highlight=Montero++"LS+versus+SR").

- does the 1997 LS come with a factory body lift? I've read 1" on LS and 2" on SR.

- any other considerations that might make me want to wait for an SR?

Eric M

Adventurer