A problem and an attempted solutiion: 12v fridge and solar charger...

Martinjmpr

Wiffleball Batter
I'm not sure if I should post this in the "fridge" section or the "power" section, although it's really more of a power issue....
I've been using a 12v fridge for almost 3 years now. Current fridge is a Truckfridge TF-41/Indel-B Travelbox TB-41 (they're the same thing.)
Fridge works great - as long as we're traveling every day. However, every time we've gone camping where there was at
least 1 full day of no driving, I've woken up in the morning to find the fridge showing the dreaded "E1" error code and in most cases, the truck battery was too flat to start the truck.
The first time this happened, I chalked it up to the fact that my 4runner still had the factory-original 2007 battery. So as soon as I got the truck started, I went to an auto parts store and asked for the biggest, most powerful battery they had that would fit the truck.
Next I tried variations of the "low voltage cutoff" switch. My fridge has 3 settings, high, medium and low voltage cutoff. This worked under some circumstances - but it was only half a solution because when the voltage cutoff kicks in, of course, it cuts power to the fridge. So I might still be able to start the truck but my food is warm.
The good news is that this problem has never left me stranded because in addition to getting a new battery, I also got a portable jump starter that I keep in the truck and I make sure it is charged up before every trip. It's also nice to know that if we're traveling with our trailer, that has a 12v battery we could use in an emergency, too.
Most of our camping trips this year we've had electrical hookups most nights, so I've avoided the problem for the most part by bringing a long extension cord and just plugging the fridge into the 120vAC power source. But of course, that's not really a viable solution for "boondocking."