35s on a 3500lb axle?

jginutah

Adventurer
I call BS. Too many factors ie assembly, maintainance, offset from hub. Your trailer will weigh 1500#?. Only half the rated load. I am sure the equation of the load on the bearing has a square value in it making the actual load on the bearing huge at 3500#. The only way I see an issue is if you ran like a zero backspacing. I believe most guys go with 3500 anyway is because they have the availability of brakes and 6 bolt hub.

toymaster

Explorer
There are many people running 35" on their trailer and some 37". I've been running 35s from day one for the last 4 years. Most people run the same tire/rims that is on their tow vehicle for obvious reasons. I would not worry about tire size as I would about being over sprung. Having 3,500lb springs on a 1,000lb trailer means the ride is very jarring. This will shake a trailer apart in time. Take a look at your actually load capacity needs and spring accordingly. Having a larger axle than needed is a good thing for durability and longevity reasons.

IMG-20130108-00137-M.jpg

IMG-20130107-00118-M.jpg

Ozrockrat

Expedition Leader
If anything it will be easier on the wheel bearings. They will rotate slower. Slower rotation = less heat = less wear. Just make sure the bearings are well maintained and the wheels balanced. Yeah I know a lot of people poo poo balancing trailer tires but they get harmonic vibration just the same as on the tow vehicle and all that energy has to go somewhere.

RubiconGeoff

Adventurer