ABS coming on at last moment of stops--no code errors 2011 4wd 3500 express van

pfacdb

2011 Chevy 3500 express (Roadtrek 190) van with Stabilitrak and recent 4wd conversion has ABS tripping at last moment before stops--obviously at low mph. Front end Dana 60 and both front and rear differential with Detroit trueurac. Mechanic says no error codes, but when disconnecting brake sensors (folks I'm not the mechanic, so just trying to translate what I understand), the ABS being triggered momentarily at stops does NOT happen.

Speculation is that it could have something to do with the truetracs (geared not with clutches). I don't really understand why that would give disparate info to the sensors, thinking that a "skid" is happening. I'm not a car mechanic, however, so that may mean very little.

I realize that Ford's are van du jour for the most part here, but perhaps this might ring someone's bell.

Thanks so much.

Jakes01234

Explorer
That makes sense, I'm trying to remember a few years back why my 3500 did the same thing and I do think it was a wheel bearing.
So I would go with that.

BajaSportsmobile

Baja Ironman
The ABS system uses wheel speed sensors out at each front wheel and one at each rear wheel (in some cases, one at the rear differential for both rear wheels) to compare wheels speeds at each wheel. The system expects am exact readings from each sensor. What sensors and reluctor wheels were used in the conversion?

pfacdb

reply to Ramsey

Hi Ramsey,

I'm not sure what sensors Boulder Offroad uses in their conversions, and until a few minutes ago, didn't know a reluctor wheel was. I can get this info from Erin or Don on Monday, if you think it would be helpful.