Complete Newbie to vehicle modification

Last year I traded my old 2wd Tundra for an equally 2wd 2013 Chevy Silverado 4-door. I clearly wasn't paying much attention, because it came with ZERO (0) recovery points. I compounded my failure by then buying (only a few months before the OJ article was published) the worst-performing tire in the test (Goodyear Wrangler AT Adventure).

Here I am, one year, one wedding, and one 3000 mile roadtrip through the Southwest later, finally coming to the point where I need to look at making some changes to the vehicle so a trip out to Big Bend or someplace similar wouldn't be a disaster waiting to happen.

So I'm asking for suggestions on simple, not-insanely-expensive modifications to this vehicle to make it, if not more off-road-capable, at least a bit more self-recovery-friendly. So far my list includes.

-Rear receiver hitch (why the hell I didn't notice that wasn't attached when I bought it...) with shackle
-Recovery/ Tow hooks under front bumper (again, ******)
-Decent recovery gear: Chain/rope/comealong/ Hi-lift that I'd be afraid to use without LOTS of supervised practice
-Maxtrax
-Take the stupid air dam off the front bumper

What else? I figure once I get some of the more egregious equipment shortfalls taken care of, I'll show up at a meet in Central Texas or somewhere and maybe get some education so I don't injure myself /break my truck if I need to use this stuff for real.

Gratuitous pic of the truck in question, heading out toward Ft Stockton on the 1st night of the SW trip.
efd9abc4-560e-43c5-b425-3893ce1e4ee5_zpshevd0vir.jpg