Defender 110 information needed.

zolo

Explorer
I have a very low knowledge level of the Defender line and the model changes and engine changes over the years.
I have a friend who is wanting to buy a late model Defender 110 (2008-2012) He has asked me to go see a few down here in Chile and I have.
But Im not sure what Im looking at compared to what I worked on back in the US.

Im a mechanic and he wants me to make sure whatever he buys is mechanically sound. However Im still confused as to what motors they had and what changes they made over the years.

I looked at a 2008 110 yesterday. It appeared to have the Ford developed diesel motor with a 6spd manual Getrag trans.
Does that add up correct for the year? If so what draw backs are there to that engine and trans set up?

One question I had was what years did Rover use the diesel TD5 with the coded injectors? The ones with a special number needing to be coded to the motors ECU to run? I know you need the IDS for this task.

Im trying to increase my understanding of the differences for the years. The motors seem to broke down into 3 types. The 300tdi, the TD5i, and the Ford developed motor which I assume is a TD5 but maybe without the coded injectors? And what years did they all come in?

Any help would be appreciated. And before anyone brings it up no the truck is not getting imported anywhere its for use in South America only.
Here are a few photos of the 2008

Attachments

• IMG_2959.JPG
    IMG_2959.JPG
    353.1 KB · Views: 26
  • IMG_2958.JPG
    IMG_2958.JPG
    418.6 KB · Views: 30
  • IMG_2960.JPG
    IMG_2960.JPG
    349.2 KB · Views: 24
Last edited:

Dozer Dan

Observer
The 300TDI was from 1994-1998. Good engine.
The TD5 was the last Land Rover developed engine. This is now a proven engine. All the noise about reliability concerns was from before the reliability was actually tested by time. There are no expensive time bombs on these.