gas vs diesel

punisher1130

Adventurer
Ok I am curious about this but first let me say I'm a mechanic on both gas and diesel fields so I know the pros and cons of both and there best fitment in the world. How ever I am new to the expedition world and I have hear this argument all over the 4x4 world and it seems to be a stale mate. Since I'm more into going off grid and exploring more then climbing rocks or playing in mud I was hoping for the wheelers who have driven both on expeditions and can shine some light on which would be best in the expedition world (generally speaking not specific terrain) in the sense of range on a tank ( how far you can get before having to stop and turn back), performance overland, reliability to get you out and home again safely. I know there is a feed on here similar to this but its asking about something different and not really asking or getting answers I am looking for, so any opinions or intell anyone?

UrbanCummin

Diesel Mechanic
I prefer diesel, generally speaking more reliable and better fuel economy. If your are a mechanic that works on both then you should know the differences in fuel economy and which engines are reliable or not. Some people like to make the "expedition world" out to be much more then it is. There is nothing special about having a reliable vehicle to go exploring with, make sure your stuff is in good condition, your have a good spare tire or two, you fix the known weak links with your vehicle and presto, you got your expo rig, now just throw in the stuff you need to camp.

Gooseberry

Explorer
I like my diesel and range it gives me. Last trip it was giving 16 mpg and just over 700 miles before I wanted to fill up. It's just a point of comfort when you travel off the main roads and not sure when you can fill up.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

WagoneerSX4

Adventurer