West Africa - 2007/2008

RichardSines

Hi -

First post on the forum. I am new to Overlanding, but I wanted to share a past adventure I had. Over the course of 6-7 months from 2007 to 2008, I traveled to West Africa three times for between two and three weeks per trip. I was working for a small company doing some field recon for mining companies. I hadn't realized it at the time (I was 24), but it was a great adventure. My only regret was not taking enough pictures or notes. The first trip was to Guinea where we drove way upcountry. I found driving on African roads to be nightmarishly slow. The roads were full of potholes and cattle. Later in the trip we did a spur of the moment international border crossing. We drove round trip from Conakry, Guinea to Freetown, Sierra Leone. The intensity of those crossings are difficult to explain, but I am happy to have experienced it. We made two more trips to Freetown where we made multi-day trips to upcountry towns Kenema and Bo. We never camped, but looking back, it would have been smarter than the shady roadside hotels we found. Traveling to Sierra Leone was life changing for me. I am happy to have experienced it, but don't see any reason to return.

Looking forward to searching the boards.
-Richard

PS, I will resize these photos and re-upload later. I didn't realize they were so large...

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

Last edited:

RichardSines

What were they digging for? Diamonds?