Questions for you video pros

Currently I have a GoPro Hero 2 (Plan to get a couple more new ones) and I also have a Canon Vixia HF G20. First let me explain the type of video I will be taking. My wife and I are going to start working towards writing trip reports with photos and video. Now these trips will be hiking, backpacking, biking, rock climbing, canoeing, offroading, rifle shooting you name it outdoors that's our goal. Now I am not a pro at all but I want good video and audio. I know you can run external mics on GoPros, should I get some? Also with my G20 I can get a shotgun mic and a 5.1 mic, which would be better for this type of video? Any help and suggestions would be great as I am just a beginner.

Thanks,
Craig

franklantern

Craig Lathem
I am not a pro but I have probably spent enough to qualify as an amateur. You mention good video and audio. Of course content is the most important element but video/audio quality can be an expensive proposition. Often its a case of good enough.

Rode mics are quite popular and cost effective. But it may be that you can add most of your audio content in post, ie voice over and sound track material. You would have a lot more control over the quality and allow for retakes since you are overdubbing. Editing is the most time intensive part of the process. Have you decided on what editing software you will be using?

wildorange

Observer
I'd highly recommend investing in an external mic for your GoPro, you should see a marked improvement compared to being without.

I've a canon rebel+Gp 4 setup along with an cheap android tablet as a monitor which works well enough.

I would have used DSLR app however that's depending on your tablet for its compatibility.

Sent from my MoJ mobile tagging device

nwoods

Expedition Leader
I agree with the probability that you'll add audio in post. A good condenser mic will give you good sound. I am a fan of the cheap but reliable mic's from Blue, such as the Blue Nesse