2005 ish Burban vs. 2010 + Tundra CrewMax with cap

hikingff77

Adventurer
What are your thoughts as a long trip family of four, sometimes 5, plus possibly two dogs.

The Suburban is obviously much more affordable.

I like the CrewMax a lot, but it doesn't have third row seating, etc. But it's so huge, three could easily sit in the back.

Does anyone have experience with either? Good or bad? Photos please!

justcuz

Explorer
I have lots of experience with Suburbans, none with the Tundra. You already mentioned the cost. Think about the majority of usage and buy for that. If you primarily drive in town the shorter wheelbase of the Suburban may be a consideration. The Suburban cargo floor with the third row removed and the second row folded down is longer than the bed of the Tundra. Depending on power train the Suburban will average better fuel mileage.
All this being said if you need a crew cab truck more than a people hauler, get the truck. If your primary concern is a people mover, get the Suburban.
There are several Suburban and Tahoe threads here with varying levels of add ons.
I'm sure there a few Tundras in the Toyota section and they have their own forum too.
Two of my Suburbans have over 250,000 miles on them with no major work. Both still have their original engines and transmissions.

gmwelder86

Adventurer
Had an 08 tundra now have a 08 suburban 2500. For 5 people plus animals suburban hands down. The truck bed is nice for truck things but nothing beats the interior space you get with a suburban.

joshjan

I have a tundra crewmax. Love it. Really love it because it's paid off! i also looked at suburbans but decided I wanted a truck bed and we could use our van for long road trips. I would decide what the main use will be and go from there.
I was really in the hunt for the rare crewmax with front bench but settled for buckets when a good deal came up.

p nut

butter