Tablet Help

DarksydeFab

I received a Duel Electronics Skypro GPS antenna and a ram mount as a gift. I currently only have an ipad mini which I know will work but is an android based tablet a better option because of micro sd expansion allowing for topo maps etc to be added?

Also looking for best tablet mapping app or software for offline mapping

Im new to this part of enjoying the outdoors but want to do it right the first time.

Thanks in Advance
T

We have an iPad and have a couple of apps loaded for navigation. One is PDF Maps. It allows you to download maps that are in Adobe PDF format and also PDF geo referenced maps. If you have the space you can load USGS topos into it. This is for off line use only. The other app we use is Motion X GPS HD. It allows for both on line and off line maps.

kojackJKU

Autism Family Travellers!
I received a Duel Electronics Skypro GPS antenna and a ram mount as a gift. I currently only have an ipad mini which I know will work but is an android based tablet a better option because of micro sd expansion allowing for topo maps etc to be added?

Also looking for best tablet mapping app or software for offline mapping

Im new to this part of enjoying the outdoors but want to do it right the first time.

Thanks in Advance
T

The short and long answer is YES. you will benefit from having an android tablet with SD exapansion. I suggest the incredibly inexpensive LePan Mini. I have one and it rocks. same size as the ipad, screen is just as good and you have SD expansion, you can use the cheap OBD reader for vehicle sensors etc. all in all a much better setup than the closed apple system.

kojackJKU

Cool. Good choice. You should pick up a cheap GPS receiver and OBD plug off ebay. Makes a world of difference!

kojackJKU

cool I use a cheap 20 buck one off ebay and it locks on in about 15 seconds. Works really well!

fishEH

Explorer