AT Comanche upgrades

elcoyote

Supporting Sponsor, Overland Certified OC0004
After a lot of searching for an appropriate replacement vehicle and a bunch of soul searching too, I came to the conclusion that there was not a new vehicle on the market within my means to continue to support me on my trips better than the vehicle I have been driving for the past 16 years and 320,000 miles: my trusty Jeep Comanche MJ.

I bought the MJ new in '92, drove it 23 miles off the lot to home and started modifying it immediately. It has been raced twice, in 3 accidents (I was only present for 2), been all over the US, Canada and Mexico. It has gone through too numerous mods and re-mods over the years to even re-count properly in a few sentences here and I will spare you the details. Instead I would like to share with you the new changes that are happening to the MJ to keep it a vital tool in my ongoing wanderings.

As busy as I am I have been very fortunate to encounter a very talented and dedicated fabricator in another ExPo member to do the work and help me through the renewal process: Simon, aka "the exile". Based upon what he knows about my driving habits, he has suggested a Jeep Speed like suspension.

The MJ has been running a RE 6" exteme lift since the lift was conceived. The track bar lowering kit comes loose all the time and makes noises that seem to be untraceable. I am tired of off the shelf and ready for a change....

The first thing we are taking on is fixing the numerous and very long stress cracks through the fire wall. The dash has been pulled out and a bunch of TIG welding is going on this week. Unlike most XJs, my MJ has no cracks at all in the unibody chassis, just the firewall.