Solar panel affixed to hood?

joelwho

Adventurer
Has anyone attached a solar panel to the hood of their rig? I'm looking for a fixed solution to power my Indel 50 fridge which doesn't require shuffling panels. I run a roof tent which occupies the entirety of the roof rack, so the roof isn't an option. Thanks in advance for any help

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

IdaSHO

IDACAMPER
There is a thread about hood mounted solar somewhere.

Personally Id avoid it if you can, simply with respect to heat and loss of efficiency.

joelwho

Adventurer
There is a thread about hood mounted solar somewhere.

Personally Id avoid it if you can, simply with respect to heat and loss of efficiency.

My search found one thread, but it appears abandoned without resolution.

And I'm a newbie working with solar, I'm not up to speed yet with loss due to heat. Thank you for your input

IdaSHO

IDACAMPER
Your welcome.

FYI, heat generated from the panel itself is enough to become a factor with regards to efficiency.

Adding heat(soak) from the hood of a vehicle isnt exactly the best thing to do.

But at the end of the day, it may very well be the best solution when concerning space.

Herbie

Rendezvous Conspirator
My other concern would be reflections - I imagine driving south/east at a certain point in the day would result in a lot of sunlight being bounced back into the driver's eyes - they absorb a ton of light, but they're still a somewhat shiny glass surface after all.

Buddha.

Finally in expo white.
My other concern would be reflections - I imagine driving south/east at a certain point in the day would result in a lot of sunlight being bounced back into the driver's eyes - they absorb a ton of light, but they're still a somewhat shiny glass surface after all.

x2
My old Mustang's factory hood scoop would reflect sunlight back at the windshield. It was annoying.

joelwho

Adventurer
Your welcome.