Ford Transit Connect extra battery, solar, etc. questions

Hey guys,
I've been coming here to drool at vehicles and trips but never posted before. I'm a biologist that works seasonally and hates wasting money on housing. My previous rig was a 94 3/4 ton cummins with a cap on the back and a clever use of interior space. Now, I have a semi stealth 2014 Ford Transit Connect in the works. Oven roaster cargo LWB version. This thing gets hot in the sun, and only the front windows open. So, I'd like to do solar, an extra battery, a vent, a 12V freezer, and some insulation.

I'm going to run wire to a sideways AGM battery under the seat, and from there to a 300W and a 1200W set of inverters. For the run to the second battery, what gauge of wire will I need? It looks to be a 6-8' run. Can I wait a bit before doing the whole solar system (ie, can my stock alternator handle two batteries?) or do I need to do it all at once? What kind of battery isolator do you guys suggest? Anything else I should know about this part?

I'll ask about solar when I know a bit more.

Thanks!

It sounds to me like you are suggesting that my alternator is going to be working pretty hard to maintain any level of charging. Draw would be a 12v freezer, occasional 700w microwave use, and eventually a computer and monitor. Would I be alright setting it up and only powering the 12v freezer for now? Then attaching the rest when the solar was in place?

Thanks

Herbie

Rendezvous Conspirator
Once you've determined roughly how much current your alternator will be trying to shove into your house battery, here's the ampacity (current capacity) chart to help you pick the size cable you'll need: http://www.usawire-cable.com/pdfs/nec ampacities.pdf