DECKED Truck Bed Storage System Test and Review

patoz

Expedition Leader
DECKED Truck Bed Storage System Test and Review

As some of you know, I was selected by the good folks at DECKED to test, evaluate, and review one of their In-Vehicle Storage Systems. In my case the vehicle is a 2004 Ford F250 Super Duty 4x4, Super Cab and a 6’9” bed with an A.R.E. Z-Series Camper Shell.

HPIM1386.jpg

PLEASE NOTE! Just to be clear, I am not being paid for writing this review. DECKED chose me because they felt I was qualified and would be able to give an unbiased and fair evaluation of their product. I have been told that since there is no ending date for this review, the product is mine to keep no matter what my findings are, whether they be good or bad. Basically, that means no matter what I say about the product, they are not going make me send it back, so my review will not be influenced by that.

Why do I need a Truck Bed Storage System?

I’m a retired Firefighter/EMT and have enjoyed camping my entire life. Just about every truck I have owned has been 4WD, and I prefer wilderness camping over developed campgrounds. Over the years, my friends and I have built various storage systems, but none of them seemed to really do the job.

Now that I’m getting older, my days of sleeping on the ground in a tent or in the back of my truck are over with. I need a few creature comforts, so I decided to convert an older surplus ambulance to a camper trailer, which I should be able to drag off the pavement and into the woods to some extent, using my F250 as the tow vehicle.

I normally carry a couple of pretty complete tool boxes, off-road recovery tools, roadside emergency tools and supplies, medical gear (EMT), and survival tools and supplies, etc. Once a Firefighter, always a Firefighter!