Renogy kit or mix and match?

Hey folks,

Looking for best mix of price/performance/ease of setup. I can fit 3 of the Renogy 100W panels on the roof of my transit connect, and still have room for an exhaust vent.

First off, I'll mostly be in the southwest US, is an MPPT controller worth it over a PWM?

Amazon has several 200W kits which are kinda tempting in their completeness (I can't post links yet, so I'll describe the controllers, which seems to be the main difference between them):

This one for 322: Renogy Wanderer 30A PWM Negative-Ground Charge Controller and 2 x 100W panels

and 516: Renogy Tracer 4210 40 Amp MPPT Charge Controller and 2 x 100W panels

and 500 even, which seems overpriced, but what do I know: 2 x 100W and a Viewstar 20 Amp PWM Charge Controller w/ LCD Display showing real time battery voltages, levels and input amperage, volts.

What about windstar kits, or recommendations on DIY mix and matches? I've never done this before, so keep that in mind.

Thanks!

Joe917

Explorer
MPPT is a waste of money below 600 Watts. Money is better spent on more panels in a small system.
Mix and match is far better as you can put together better components especially the charge controller. You can't go wrong with MorningStar.
Battery voltage, panel watts and blinkey lights are a waste of money. Buy a good battery monitor(with a shunt). What goes in and out of the battery is all that matters.
Building your own system will force you to educate yourself.
Have fun.

4x4junkie

Explorer
MPPT is a waste of money below 600 Watts. Money is better spent on more panels in a small system.

No, not always...

It being a waste of money depends on other factors, such as: