M1078 LMTV expedition vehicle build

LostInTheWorld

Builder/Traveler
Hello all,

I’m fairly new posting here, but I have been a long time expedition portal browser. I have also been very active on other forums for years (G503, cruisersforum, rotaryforum, and steel soldiers).

I want to share a bit about our newest project.

---Project Background:
I am a nature and wildlife photographer. My wife and I travel quite a bit in the US and sometimes internationally. We go on backcountry photography trips in our Wrangler/Autohome setup. We love our little jeep roof top tent (RTT) setup, but we are looking to significantly expand our trip capability with more internal volume, so we are selling our RTT and starting an expedition truck build. We are planning extended (months long) trips in the western US, Alaska, and Canada in the coming years, so we are building a new vehicle for that purpose. We typically use our 4x4 to access out of the way locations (often in snow, sand, mud, and flooded roads), but we don’t intentionally seek technical situations. Our new vehicle will be highway capable, but we are in no rush, so cruising along a highway at 55-60 mph is fine with us. We want it to be something we feel comfortable living in for extended periods off the beaten path.

---Build Capability:
I’m a certified welder (TIG and stick), I’m a machinist (I own a small machine shop), and I’m a mechanical design engineer. I have worked in the engineering field one way or another for the last 19 years. I have built several aircraft, and I have worked quite a bit with military vehicles. My wife is professional quilter, blogger, and was an aircraft design engineer for over 10 years. She has a great eye for design, color, and style. Basically, we are set up to handle most reasonable design/build projects.

---The Vehicle: