89 Suburban Build and Help

PHSARGE

So Finally got something bigger than the Jeep Fleet. Truck is an 89 Suburban. Dark Blue in color. Truck is in awesome shape for it's age.

Mods so Far

33 inch tires on stock suspension
Move Rear Bumper ( Still in progress )

Mods to come

Move Front bumper with winch
Dual Alternator charging system with second battery
Roof Rack
New Hood ( current one pretty well beat up )
Swing away for rear bumper
Some molle attachment points
Vehicle mounted compressor system

Area of needed help
The dual charge system requires AC Delco AD244 alternators. Has anyone used these on older vehicles? It's been done but some of the electrical I am not good without a diagram.

Will post pictures as soon as I get a chance of the starting point as well as the finished items.

Thanks all in advance

Jeff

Last edited:

justcuz

Explorer
Take a look at geronracing's suburban build. I think he used one 180 amp alternator for his dual battery setup.

FBJR

Adventurer
Can't agree more, need pics. I have two 1991 burbs outside. Flipping one, building the other with 6BT.

rayra

Expedition Leader
Any particular reason for the dual alternator vs singe high output?

what plans for the 33" spare in the rear storage slot, will a 33" fit down in that tub?

FBJR

Adventurer
I have a stock 235/85-16 in there now. Width is fine but it is up against the front and on the door strap. There is room in the well for a larger tire.

PHSARGE

13728457_10202055754112642_799996371_o.jpg

OK here is the old girl sitting in the driveway. Better pictures to follow when I take her down to Philipsburg to do some Sapphire hunting. Also when I get the rear bumper finished up.

I couldn't get the 33 to sit in the holder correctly with the third row seat in. Unfortunatly I need to keep it because I need to haul around Boy scouts on camping trips every so often.