M101A1 axle questions

Mojavejohn

Adventurer
So, I've had this trailer for a few years now, M101A1, I picked it up from Govt. Liquidators. I really haven't done anything much to it. I use it to haul my camping gear and as a utility trailer, to haul wood, rock etc. I'd like to keep the dual use of it. I'm thinking the first thing that I want to change is the axle. I currently have the original axle, with the split rims and hand brakes. Those hand brakes are cool and really come in handy. My tow vehicles are a 2012 FJC or a 2016 Tacoma. Since they're both small vehicles I'd like electric brakes, hand breaks and matching hubs. Is this possible and what's the best way to go about it? Can I adapt the current axle to electric brakes and change the hubs out? I've read about Dexter axles, but I have no experience here, so what do I need to do? This is definitely outside of my current skill set. Does anyone have someone in Southern Cal. (high desert preferably) that I could hire to change this out for me, or just help me along? Thanks for the suggestions.

cs0430

I used Redneck Trailer Supplies. Good price, shipped quickly and got what I wanted. I think it was also only $40-50 more to move to a 5200lb axle. Make sure you mention you want the manual parking brake feature. Here's the contact info there:

Charles Chism
Redneck Trailer Supplies
951-685-8384

Mojavejohn

Adventurer
Thanks buddy, I'll check them out.
I used Redneck Trailer Supplies. Good price, shipped quickly and got what I wanted. I think it was also only $40-50 more to move to a 5200lb axle. Make sure you mention you want the manual parking brake feature. Here's the contact info there:

Charles Chism
Redneck Trailer Supplies
951-685-8384

cs0430

Thanks buddy, I'll check them out.