Haming it up finally

johnspark

Ramblin Man
So I got a Technician Class study guide and a Kenwood TM-281A mobile unit. I've picked a test date of 8/22/16 to shoot for and now I'm studying like a school child again. :violent-smiley-031:

I don't know diddly about Ham, but I do know that the jacknapes on CB channel 6 and 11 are killing it for me. What good is a scan feature that can't lock out those knuckleheads? Don't answer that...:snorkel:

I did the install on the radio today and it works...well, the lights come on. That's as far as I got. I haven't any idea how to program it yet and I already know that I forgot to get the programming cable. Bummer, cause the HRO is all the way over on Buford Hwy. I downloaded the programming software and at least will have that filled out before long.

Anyone got any tips on what to tackle first with this new adventure I've begun? Edit ti add..I've read all the stickies up top. Good stuff.

Some help getting a completed program for my radio for the Atlanta, GA. area might be useful. I haven't tried to google it yet since I don't have the license yet, but anything helps. :D

Last edited:
Right there with you. Took my test last Saturday and now anxiously awaiting my call sign. Just kept doing the practice tests till I had it embedded, had a good understanding of most of it to begin with it was easy (I'm in the low voltage contracting world so a lot was every day stuff to me).