10' x 10' Free-Standing Canopy : 18" Round Stakes or Weighted Bags to secure?

artaq

we bought a new 10' x 10' free-standing canopy and are wondering the best way to keep it on the ground. should i invest in the weighted bags, or are 18" round stakes the better and easier choice?

if you advise round stakes, what is the best way to employ them? rope or ratchet strap?? i'm new to all of this, so please dumb it way down for me. thanks in advance! :sombrero:

crab

Bags would be heavy to carry with you, unless you filled them at each campsite, which is a drag. Stakes through the feet of the canopy would be my first try at it. Of course if it's windy yo have other issues. Lash it to your rig?

Kerensky97

Xterra101
Those things are like sails. I've seen so many fly while at the beach.
Even if you go with the stakes just roll up a bunch of sandbags in with the carrying case. Just incase.

jim65wagon

On the beach we use sand bags with guy lines. In the forest we use stakes through the foot of the EZUp.

For the guy lines (they are preattached to the ezup) they loop under the face of the stake ( or through the sand bags ties) and are tightened with a truckers hitch.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Martinjmpr

Wiffleball Batter
We use stakes that are about 10" long and probably 1/4" diameter.

Basically these:

https://www.amazon.com/SE-9NRC10-Ga...ts=p_n_feature_keywords_browse-bin:4916187011

I hammer them into the foot of the pop up. I have had some difficulty pulling them out so I got a flat wrecking bar that I can put underneath the head of the stake and then rock back up.

For pounding them into the ground I like an all-plastic dead blow hammer from Harbor Freight:

http://www.harborfreight.com/4-lb-neon-orange-dead-blow-hammer-41800.html

It's bright orange so easy to see and hard to lose. I've lost the head of a few rubber mallets so the all-in-one-piece dead blow hammer has been a good choice.

Martinjmpr

Wiffleball Batter