New HAM

Longrange308

Adventurer
So I finally got around to taking my test last saturday and passed. I got lucky I think, I studied a bunch for the test two years ago and then chickened out and never took the test.

I spent a total of maybe 4 hours studying and taking practice exams and went to the test last minute and luckily I have a steel trap memory, lots of info came flooding in from the memory banks and I pulled it off. Whew..

So this morning I ordered a Yaesu FTM-400XDR, a Diamond K400S NMO antenna mount, SBB5 NMO antenna, A MEK-2 Mic extension kit, a MMB-98 remote suction windshield control head bracket, an MFJ-281 speaker (radio body will be behind the back seat in a crew cab f-150), and lastly a NMO antenna mount cap for when I pull the antenna off for car washes and such.

All this cool stuff should be here tomorrow and Im stuck, still waiting for my call sign to appear on the FCC website. I am not this patient, haha.. On top of all this, I already owned a Kenwood TM-281 2m unit and I am listening in on a local repeater that is currently linked in with my hometown.. UGH!

So how long does this normally take for the callsign to show up? Im dying over here trying to be patient while still hitting the refresh button on the FCC website every 3 seconds (not really, but I do check it throughout the day)

You guys think I did good on equipment?

opg4759

Congrats on passing your test. You should have your callsign online within the week.

Equipment wise you look to have made some solid choices. With the FT-400 look up Bluetooth Cat connector, you can use this with an Android phone/tablet to display APRS data on a map with APRSdroid. There are a few different youtube videos on how to do this.

-Josh KB6FJ

prerunner1982

Adventurer
Congrats and welcome.

I have seen it take about 12 days for a callsign to appear on the FCC ULS. This depends somewhat on how and how quickly the VEs submitted the tests.

texascrane

Adventurer