Best way to add bit of ground clearance?

I'm new to lifting and building trucks, and vehicles with IFS in general (Coming from Jeeps), so this may be a pretty obvious question to some of you guys.

I'm building up a 2001 Silverado Z-71 as a daily driver/weekend warrior, and I'm looking to gain a little bit of ground clearance without needing to go up more than one tire size to fill the wheelwells (Since it's a 4.8L and I don't want to put the money into a regear right now)

My current plan is replacing the current shocks with Bilstein 5100s and putting a 1.5" or 2" lift key in the front. The rear springs are a little worn out, since while the truck doesn't have a ton of miles on it, a lot of those miles were spent hauling ATVs and a camping trailer. What's my best bet to restore the original suspension and gain a little lift on the back to match the front lift, since I like to maintain a little bit of rake to the truck.

pappawheely

Autonomous4X4
Fix the springs. Either have them rebuilt or get new ones. Add-a-leafs, blocks, etc. will do nothing if your leaf springs are sacked. If it is a daily driver, just put some bigger tires on it. That will give you more ground clearance where it counts, at the diff and front x-member. Once you start lifting the suspension you open a whole can of worms. Steering, wheel travel, gas mileage are all affected.

Oobray

Adventurer
I'll go ahead and give a plug for Cognito suspension parts. Their kits are awesome, and the ride is awesome. You can just crank the bars and use their control arms to gain droop back. The shocks are really valves perfectly and street / off road ride is really great. Not cheap though. I have their stage 6 on my Yukon XL

Ducky's Dad

Explorer