Info on best vehicle for overlanding

dieselduckie

Hello all, I'm new to overlanding and looking for advice on what to do for a vehicle. I currently own a 1997 Ford F-250 4x4 supercab long bed with an auto Trans, and am wanting to take long road trips with both highway and off-road involved. Is this a sufficient vehicle, and what modifications should I make to it? Or should I be looking for something else? And if so, what vehicle would be a good choice? Am working on a modest budget and whatever vehicle I have will need to have can room for the girlfriend and I, plus a back seat for the dog. Would kind of like to stay with a pickup, and a manual Trans, but am flexible on these. Whatever tips or ideas offered are appreciated. Thanks.

Theoretician

Adventurer
In photography, there is a saying: the best camera in the world is the in your hands.

There is no best vehicle for this stuff, only a good vehicle for what you want to do. Tacomas and LC80s are popular for a lot of reasons, but they'll leave you without an option for a slide-in camper that your F250 could handle without drama. A Subaru is going to leave both of those vehicles far behind when it comes to gas mileage. A Suzuki will kill everything I've mentioned in the rocks.

Get out there, figure out what you want to do, and then start thinking about whether you need a new vehicle to suit your interests. Having 4 wheel drive is about the only requirement and you've got that covered.

evilfij

Explorer
A 97 F250 sounds good to me. The most important thing is to make it reliable. Fix anything broken and maintain it, especially on a limited budget (towing from the middle of no where is not cheap). If you want to sleep in the truck, skip the $1500 roof top tent and get a craigslist camper shell for $100.

Trophycummins

Adventurer
Is your truck gas or diesel? If it's a 460 you'll probably need an aux fuel tank or A LOT of jerry cans to get to some of the remote places.