Photo Editing Software recommendations

LandCruiserPhil

Expedition Leader
Newbie here I have a bag of gear and the more I talk and read words like RAW and photo software keep popping up. First Im looking into talking a basic photography class to get a solid overview of the mechanics.

Is there such thing as beginner photo software? Im not a super computer guy and dont want to be consumed with the frustration of trying to navigate around advance stuff that Im years away from needing. Are there must have app that I should consider starting with? I have come to realize until I get away from the green button on my camera and get out program modes the quality pictures are going to be limited.

dwh

Tail-End Charlie
In Windows I use a freebie Photoshop clone called "Paint.NET", which is so much like Photoshop that it's a wonder that the damn thing is even legal.

In Linux I use a Paint.NET clone called "Pinta'.

On a Mac...dunno. I hate Apple and won't touch their stuff unless I'm getting paid to fix it, which I try hard to avoid. :)

dwh

Tail-End Charlie
And...

Learn to live and love layers.

Doing edits in layers makes it so much easier to change something you tried that didn't come out quite like you thought it would.

D

Deleted member 96197

Before you spent any more money, you are absolutely on the right path with a basic photography class, I'm not sure which OS you are using, and i can't speak to the software recommended above, but for a beginner on a mac the included photos app is just fine to get you rolling.

DiploStrat

Expedition Leader
On the Apple side ...

As a serious Apple Freaque, I am furious that Apple killed off Aperture, their superb, pro level software.