DSLR question

rcharrette

Adventurer
Hi All, I'm an amateur photographer. I have a Pentax K10D currently and just started shooting in RAW and using Lightroom to edit about 6 months ago. I'm having a lot of fun with all of this. My question is that I've actually had this K10D for years just shooting JPG. As a beginner would I see any benefit from a more modern camera? I'm certainly not eager to go and spend money on a new camera but if their is a clear good reason to the maybe??
Thanks,
Randy

mtnbike28

Expedition Leader
If you are happy with the images you are getting, then no need. New cameras do lots of things better - high ISO noise, features like time lapse - but buy a new lens and enjoy what you have!

rcharrette

Adventurer
Thanks for the reply. I guess that is the heart of my question. Are the newer DSLR's that much better that even I would see the benefit? I'm happy with my photo's for the most part but just wondering if a newer DSLR would produce a better image when looking at them side by side to my K10D and why? Could I achieve the same quality of photo with my K10D and lightroom as I could with a new DSLR?
As I said I'm new to Lightroom and excited to improve my photography. Just trying to understand if my equipment is limiting me or I have plenty of room to grow with what I have.
Thanks again!

Landscape and candid shots of people, action, etc., a new DSLR probably wouldn't really do much to improve. Action and fast moving sports, yes, the new autofocus systems are incredible. Glass would provide much more benefit than a new body. That's where the rubber hits the road. More important though is learning to shoot and maximizing you abilities. Lots of incredible photos have been taken with lessor cameras than yours. What are your plans with the shots? Just post to Facebook or some other media where they will probably just be viewed on a small screen phone? Printing or other large format where the pixel density may make a difference?

mtnbike28