Installing LET light strip in RTT

gpwpat

Adventurer
Installing LED light strip in RTT

Ok so I cam across a LED light strip at Ikeahttp://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/50119407. I studied the quality and after determining that they probably would be sturdy enough to ride inside a RTT I purchased a set. First delema, which was not much at all was to decide which to buy. White or multi-color including white. Multi color it is. my son thought that would be cool as did I and they were both the same price. My wife on the other hand could care less. First order of buisness is to open the package.

Inside you will find 4 10" long strips. these can be plugged in together to make one long strip or you can un them individually. everything in the kit is plug and play. To install to the tent it comes with double sided tape or clips. First I thought I would use the clips with screws. but I then decided to use industrial strength double sided tape. this is Black. not the crappy white doublesided tape. I got it at the hobby shop. They call it servo tape there.

I ran the wire along the pole and attached the wire with nylon ties. Since the pictures were taken, I have put wire loom around the wire to protect it from abrasions. Here is where the wires plug in. I took it apart and screwed the box to the RTT floor and then screwed it back together.

Next I installed the switch. After cutting off the 120V ac to 12v DC transformer I took the switch apart and re routed the wires to exit the same side of the switch. I then servo taped the switch to the edge of the RTT. It sits between the tent side and the matress.