Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 97 Defender D90 $11K ??

  1. #1
    haven is offline Expedition Portal Moderator Expedition Leader
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8,550

    Default 97 Defender D90 $11K ??

    http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.js...r_id=253187207

    Here's an immaculate D90 for sale by a private party in Amarillo TX.
    49,000 miles! If this is real, it could be a great buy.

    Any ExPo members in Amarillo who can check this out?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Overwatch
    Posts
    2,822
    That HAD to be recently dried out from Ike, or maybe Katrina - what a deal - something has to be wrong here. If not, I couldn't imagine it staying for sale at that price more than, say... 15 minutes. Very curious!
    Chance favors the prepared mind.

    All cowardice comes from not loving, or not loving well, which is the same thing. EH

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,861
    I believe this to be a scam ad.

    This looks exactly like a truck that Susan at Park City 4X4 has listed.

    These scammers really gripe my ... ehem.

    Dendy

  4. #4
    Sorry Guys, we have this truck for $41750. Some scammer has it posted on AutoTrader, we notified them (AutoTrader's Fraud Link) 3 days ago, but they still have not taken it down.
    Susan C. Daniero
    Park City 4X4 Classics
    Authorized Dealer TLC ICON™
    Authorized Dealer Campa All-Terrain™ Trailers
    Phone: (435) 731-0748
    Utah Dealer #6541
    Website: www.parkcity4x4classics.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    611
    this really has become a big issue with these scammers. I ran into the same issue last week with someone trying to sell an 05 Volvo V70 with 40,000 miles for $7,000. if it sounds to good to be true...
    "Victory is won by struggling against opposition. Victory is something you have to get up and take charge of."

  6. #6
    haven is offline Expedition Portal Moderator Expedition Leader
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8,550
    So the supposed Amarillo poster is hoping to get
    unsuspecting people to send a deposit on the vehicle?

    I sent email feigning interest, and will report what happens.

    ______________

    "Walking from your house, to your Jeep, to the bar, is not an adventure"

    No, but walking from the bar to your Jeep and trying to drive home could be!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    611
    ["Walking from your house, to your Jeep, to the bar, is not an adventure"

    No, but walking from the bar to your Jeep and trying to drive home could be![/QUOTE]


    "Victory is won by struggling against opposition. Victory is something you have to get up and take charge of."

  8. #8
    haven is offline Expedition Portal Moderator Expedition Leader
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8,550
    I got a reply to my email, obviously sent by an auto-responder. The reply included lots more photos and text describing how to purchase the vehicle. Here's the important part:

    "Price is $11,250 . Title is clear. I will make this deal only trough eBay Motors Vehicle Purchase Program because I am away with my job here in Canada. Before leaving I had prearranged shipping with eBay and DAS so my presence isn't necessary. The car is in a warehouse of DAS, ready for delivery."

    DAS is Dependable Auto Shippers, a company that often does business with people buying and selling through eBay Motors. I called DAS, and they verified that DAS does not have a warehouse to store vehicles. They just pick up and deliver.

    Now the question is how to find the perpetrators of the scam. I've got an email sent from an AOL account. but GMail doesn't let me see the IP routing of the message to know where it really came from. I suppose Google would make this information available to law enforcement agencies only.

    Chip Haven

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Harford Co, MD
    Posts
    1,002
    My frist thought on any internet scammer like that would be Nigerians, they are infamous for doing purchase scams on the internet. And it is almost impossible to prosecute them for their crimes when they are an entire ocean and continent away.

    Chris Hansen, the " To Catch a Predator " guy did a short series "To Catch A Theif " tracking down these internet scum, and interviewing their victims. Was interesting stuff.

    I saw a thread on another forum where someone successfully played with these guys, he generated his own fake bank checks and strung the scammer along for a good bit. It was a very funny read.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    352
    Quote Originally Posted by haven
    Now the question is how to find the perpetrators of the scam. I've got an email sent from an AOL account. but GMail doesn't let me see the IP routing of the message to know where it really came from. I suppose Google would make this information available to law enforcement agencies only.

    Chip Haven
    In Gmail, open the message. Click the down arrow in the upper-right-hand corner and select "Show original". This will display the message in its entirety, including all mail routing headers.
    Chris, K0RSQ - 2006 Jeep Liberty CRD
    "Support Search & Rescue, Get Lost!"

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •