Removal of rust from jerry can

jmeadows

Anyone know how to remove rust from the INSIDE of of a metal jerry can, it is not rusted through and the rust looks light. I am thinking CLR?

2008F450

Observer
There is a product that removes rust from motorcycle gas tanks. I forget the name but my father and I used to use it alot when we played with old Honda 750s. You put it in shake around awhile then dump it. Then you put in another part of the kit that caoted the inside to prevent rust. We used them and never had a problem with rust or coating coming off. Should do the same for you.

toy_tek

Adventurer
Great timing, I just picked up 4 jerry cans today, 3 fuel 1 water. Guy said they had some rust, I haven't looked yet. I'd like to know the name of that stuff too.

ntsqd

Heretic Car Camper
The product that I've seen mentioned in relation to motorcycle fuel tanks is "Kreem". I've no knowledge of, or experience with it.

POR-15 offers a product called "U.S. Standard Fuel Tank Sealer." A friend of mine has used this product on a couple custom fab'd fuel tanks to prevent the start of rust. I've been impressed with it. The first tank is now over 15 years old and never has had any troubles.

michaelgroves

Explorer
If you don't mind a physical work-out, you can put a small amount of diesel and a couple of kilos of coarse gravel into the jerry can, and shake it all around for a couple of hours. This works well where the rust is all at the bottom of the can - maybe where it had an inch or so of water in it - in which case, you just make sure there is enough diesel and gravel to cover the rust, and then drive for 1000km (washboard is best!)

I am sure the chemical approach is better, though!

madizell

Explorer