Advice From All You Medics

jh504

Explorer
I am an EMT-B in North Carolina. I was working full time for an Ambulance Service here in NC up until January of '08. I was in a near fatal car accident and I have been out of the EMS loop for the past year. I was recently layed off from my office job and I am going back to work as an EMT. I am going back to school with the intention of getting my paramedic. Considering that I have been out of service for a year do you guys think that taking on the paramedic course would be a little too challenging? Should I start out slower with the EMT-I and move to the medic later? Thanks for any opinions and knowledge!

firemansxterra

Adventurer
well i just finished up my EMT-I and from some of the guys that bridged over to EMT-P from I they said it wasn't that much difference, just adding a few drugs and learning 12 leads, etc. So I would think you would be okay going from B to P...a couple of the people here have done it no problem. It will all come back to you once you get back into it. Plus talk is on the National Registry scene that by around 2010 or 2011 they will be doing away with the EMT-I at the national registry level...

Hltoppr

El Gringo Spectacular!
Heck...I'd just jump into the paramedic course...actually...for me personally I'd look into a PA program...and I keep threatening my wife I'd like to go back to Med school....she just loves the idea of another 100K school loan...

You'll do fine. Study and go for it!

-H-

jh504

Explorer
Hltoppr said:
Heck...I'd just jump into the paramedic course...actually...for me personally I'd look into a PA program...and I keep threatening my wife I'd like to go back to Med school....she just loves the idea of another 100K school loan...

You'll do fine. Study and go for it!

-H-