Budget expedition

jmeadows

Since I'm new to this forum ill give you the low-down on me, I live in Calgary Alberta, 19 years old and love my truck to death, also trying to make it in the music business.

So here is the deal, I’m young and poor, I was given a 78 GMC sierra Grande by my grandpa as he cannot drive. I’m relatively new to the whole expedition thing, however I do spend a fair amount of time in the rockies especially during the winter. I’m planning a wheel/rim upgrade to some BFG all terrain’s and to do some light bodywork on my truck. I’m toying with the idea for some sort of camper type setup in the bed but I am not sure. I’m looking for suggestions and ideas for every aspect of this vehicle with 2 restrictions to keep in mind:
1- I’m a student so I’m not always swimming in cash
2- this is my only vehicle besides a motorbike so I will be using it for city driving for about 6 months a year.

Thanks,
Jordan

Attachments

• dsc 004.jpg
    dsc 004.jpg
    928.6 KB · Views: 106
Last edited:

bootzilla

Adventurer
Because you aren't trying to spend a ton of money, and because this will be a daily driver for you - I'd think that starting with a cap would be more economical. That way you can stow a bunch of gear securely, and you can always use the bed with the cap as a sleeping shelter at a campsite if you don't want to use a tent. You could try to find a cap that would allow you to attach roof rails, then you could put a spare tire or other gear on top, or add a roof-top tent later on if you want to and have the money. Those with pickups may want to chime in, but that seems like it woule be more economical than a camper in the bed.

It you Sierra 4wd? Since it is essentially a Chevy, I would think you should be able to find parts for better off road capability.

asteffes

Explorer
Any reason you want to change the wheels? I would just not spend the money on wheels and put better tires on. The money you save could go toward the other gear you want/need.