How do you use HAM in an Emergency?

nwoods

Expedition Leader
I'm a novice amateur, meaning I'm very new to HAM and don't really know what I'm doing yet. Last weekend on the trail we found an injured motorcycle rider that needed a helicopter evac. The Rider had SPOT, and we had cell phone coverage so we used both and did not need to ping a repeater to make contact with rescue personnel. I had a full listing of all the local repeaters, but did not attempt to use them because of the cell coverage and SPOT availablity. SPOT was used as requested by the victim because the recovery would be insured beyond just basic healthcare.

The first rescuer to arrive was a fixed wing Sheriff's aircraft that just circled the site. We wanted to communicate with him to let him know that we absolutely needed an helicopter for our patient, not a ground based or fixed wing transport.

Is there a way for my dual channel 2m/440 Icom 208H HAM radio to communicate with the aircraft? I tried raising him on 146.550 (Ham 2 Meter Ham FM Simplex National Emergency Frequency) and 146.520 (National Simplex Frequency) but was unsuccessful.

What do you recommend in this circumstance to communicate with the rescue teams?

Last edited:

soonenough

Explorer
I know very little about this (I'm a Ham newbie as well), but don't most aircraft use AM instead of FM for voice? Law enforcement aircraft may use FM though since the other officers, dispatch, etc that they're communicating with are probably all using FM. Also, I think there is probably a separate frequency band set up for aircraft use that does not overlap with the 2m or 440 operating bands, meaning that your dual band radio is probably not capable (out of the box, anyway) of transmitting on those frequencies. Again, it may be a different answer because it's a law enforcement aircraft.