Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 89 Montero Build: "From Compton to the Con"

Default 89 Montero Build: "From Compton to the Con"

Ive been wheeling Monteros in one form or another since 1993 when I bought an 86 after a tour in Somalia. Anyways, my latest has been this 89 that I bought out in Phoenix a couple years ago after returning from my second tour in Iraq. I had been wanting to build a short wheel base for a while and my last two had been Long wheel base models. Also, I wanted the 3.0 V6 and and auto trans which is a rather difficult combo to find in the short wheelbase models, with 89 and 90 being the only years of this combo available. I drove my 95 out to AZ with the wife and picked it up. It was in in sorry shape, but I was able to limp it home to So Cal.

Heres a pic from the parking lot, at this point I had already removed some type of wierd roof contraption as well as a cheesey light bar. Note the crome bling stuff and the double blade windshield wipers

Hey ou think it might be a 4x4??

Although it was in AZ the truck had cali plates and when I went to the DMV to register it it was still valid in the CA system and was reviously registered in Compton CA.

Took about 3 days with a heat gun to remove all the stickers. There were about 5 differnt pinstripes running the length of the truck.

changed out the hairdryer for a real heat gun, a few beers...progress..

On that last one you can see I took off the unpredictable auto hubs and swapped on a set of superwinch manuals that I picked up online from summit.
    Last edited by Justice R; 03-19-2009 at 03:21 AM.
    -Justice R
    04 Limited- Tows the bass boat
    99 Montero Cold Weather Package, engine knock
    91 Montero LWB Grasscat I modified, Mitsu locker in rear, 33's, Snork, Winch (sold)
    89 Montero SWB auto, Locked F/R, Armored,Aussie Crawler Gears, 33's (Sold but wish I had not)
    02 Montero XLS Wife's rig (Traded in for Jetta TDI)