08 Silverado Ideas

08Silverado

Adventurer
Hello!
First off I have really enjoyed browsing this forum! I truly think the good Lord intended for me to experience this great country in the fashion depicted on this website! As for my "rig" I have a 08 Silverado crew cab 4wd. I have only done a few minor modifications thus far.

Front coil spacer from daystar
40 series flowmaster with turn downs
removed front air dam/valence
just purchased masterflow mv1050 compressor

I have always wanted to have a vehicle capable of expedition style travel. This vehicle is my daily driver and will remain so for many years.

I would like everyones opinion on what modifications I should focus on in order to make this truck as versatile as possible. Keeping in mind that unfortunately this vehicle will remain on pavement most of the time.

Any thoughts and opinions are greatly appreciated.

Kyle

Rot Box

Explorer
I have no experience with the new Silverado's, but hopefully I can give you a few helpfull general ideas to start with :coffeedrink: You should check this build out as this truck is similar to yours: http://www.expeditionportal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=25957

For starters I would highly recomend recovery gear and equiptment. Tow hooks front and rear, At least 2 pull ropes (much safer than chains), D-ring shackles, a winch would be great if it fits the budget and so on. This stuff will really pay off the first time you find yourself stuck.

Next would be tires. You will want something more than the average street tire. A good set of A/T's or M/T's will really benefit you anytime you go offroad.

A decent set of tools is super important. If your truck requires any special tools or uncommon tools (theft proof lug nuts, Torx head drivers ect...) throw them in too.

Where do you plan on sleeping? RTT, shell or camper?

Anyway search around you are bound to find some really good ideas on this board :coffee:

08Silverado

Adventurer