Thread: Where to put Oil Press. Sending unit?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Rowlett, TX
    Posts
    126

    Default Where to put Oil Press. Sending unit?

    I am planning on getting a Lotek Guage Pillar for 2 guages. I already have a Trans Temp., So I was planning on putting in a Oil Pressure and a Volt Meter. I have 2 questions, First, Where would the Oil Pressure sending unit mount ? I think I saw a spot near the Filter? and Second, What two guages would you mount ? Muchas Gracias mi Amigos, Suty
    " The only necessity for evil to triumph, is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
    " I'm not as good as I once was, but , I'm as good once as I ever was." Toby Keith

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tampa,Florida
    Posts
    2,024
    Good question suty I would love to yank out the whole guage cluster and start over. there is plenty of room in there for a full complement of mechanical guage. Obviously building a new back drop would be neccesary to mount the guages but with the 4 in 1 stewert warner guages you could retro speed/tach, oil/temp/batt/fuel, should still enough to place back the turn indicators and other factory idiot lights if ya wanted to.

    Of course I have a '96 reg cab with just a big speedo,fuel,and temp guage.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Rowlett, TX
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by Nullifier
    Good question suty I would love to yank out the whole guage cluster and start over. there is plenty of room in there for a full complement of mechanical guage. Obviously building a new back drop would be neccesary to mount the guages but with the 4 in 1 stewert warner guages you could retro speed/tach, oil/temp/batt/fuel, should still enough to place back the turn indicators and other factory idiot lights if ya wanted to.

    Of course I have a '96 reg cab with just a big speedo,fuel,and temp guage.
    Nulli. Thanks for the reply.. I to wished Toyota had actually put guages in these trucks. I am going to add 2 more Volt and Oil Pressure or would a Amp guage be better than a Volt ? Any thoughts would be appreciated. Tu Compa, Suty
    Last edited by Suty; 11-07-2005 at 10:33 AM.
    " The only necessity for evil to triumph, is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
    " I'm not as good as I once was, but , I'm as good once as I ever was." Toby Keith

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Rowlett, TX
    Posts
    126
    OK, Guys.....VOLT or AMP , OIL PRESSURE or ??????? Help a brother out, Suty
    " The only necessity for evil to triumph, is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
    " I'm not as good as I once was, but , I'm as good once as I ever was." Toby Keith

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    13,425
    I like having voltage and transmission temp in the pillar. Oil pressure has not been a documented issue with the 3.4L, so I did not consider it as important.

    However, transmission temp has been an issue.

    The voltage gauge helps you monitor battery level while camping. I have the gauge wired with a DPDT switch, which allows me to monitor the main and auxiliary battery.

    Just my .02
    Scott Brady
    Overland Journal
    D1 | LJ78 | LR4 | MKIII | J8 | G-Wagen |

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Rowlett, TX
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by expeditionswest
    I like having voltage and transmission temp in the pillar. Oil pressure has not been a documented issue with the 3.4L, so I did not consider it as important.

    However, transmission temp has been an issue.

    The voltage gauge helps you monitor battery level while camping. I have the gauge wired with a DPDT switch, which allows me to monitor the main and auxiliary battery.

    Just my .02
    Scott, Thanks for your input. I have a Trans Temp I mounted in the dash so with the Volt I have space for one more guage ? Hmmm, any thoughts ? Bombero de Tejas, Suty
    " The only necessity for evil to triumph, is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
    " I'm not as good as I once was, but , I'm as good once as I ever was." Toby Keith

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    13,425
    Interesting. Maybe oil pressure would be a good one then.

    I also like having the outside temp too. Cyberdyne makes that gauge.
    Scott Brady
    Overland Journal
    D1 | LJ78 | LR4 | MKIII | J8 | G-Wagen |

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Rowlett, TX
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by expeditionswest
    Interesting. Maybe oil pressure would be a good one then.

    I also like having the outside temp too. Cyberdyne makes that gauge.
    Thanks Scott, So, Oil Pressure and Volt it is.. Any Idea where the sending unit goes on Taco V6 ? Carnales, Suty
    " The only necessity for evil to triumph, is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
    " I'm not as good as I once was, but , I'm as good once as I ever was." Toby Keith

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •