White water boats

Black Dog

Makin' Beer.
Over the weekend me and my uncle and cousin did a little river trip on Bull River in north west Montana over the weekend. Me and my cousin both paddled little recreational kayaks and my uncle was in his white water kayak, I can't remember what brand or model or anything it is. The section of the river we did was the bottom 4 miles or so, and for the most part it is relatively calm but towards the end there was some technical bits with log jams and rocks to get around. And that got me hooked on white water.

I'm a bit of a chunky husky guy at 5'5" and 220 pounds, so I need a boat with a fair whack of capacity (80 gallon range is what I've been looking at). I'd like something with a good amount of rocker and a round chine since I'm just getting started with white water, and a larger cockpit for making it easier to get in and out. I'm thinking a creek boat or a river runner will be best mainly because of their larger capacities and also because for the foreseeable future I don't really anticipate getting into freestyle or playboating.

The ideal boat I've found so far is the Dagger Nomad 8.5. link Does anyone on this board have any experience with boats of similar dimensions to this one, or even with this exact boat? So far about the only bad things I've read is that it is a pretty big boat, but I kind of need a big boat because I'm a big guy.

grahamfitter

Expedition Leader
Most river-runner and longer creek boats are reasonable for learning to paddle whitewater. These things are pretty robust so I'd recommend getting a used kayak -- you may be able to pick up everything you need in one go for significantly less than you'd spend on a new boat.

Its worth getting instruction on the basic whitewater strokes and especially all safety related things! You can pick up some of it from books and DVDs but the real learning comes from doing.