Automatic tranny help

Hi all,
I am pretty new to automatic transmissions. I need advice on a torque converter. I also need to know how to tell what tranny I have. :confused:

I just traded my 1992 ford superduty 2 wheel drive that I was going to convert to 4-wheel drive for a 1991 suburban. I did some research on it and it seems like I could have the Turbo 400 or the 700R? is this right if so how do I tell.:confused:

The guy I traded said it needed a new torque converter. Something is clanging really badly inside the torque converter but I know very little about automatics so is there an up grade for the original torque converter? I have seen them on line but mostly for street racing. I am wondering if someone could point me in the direction of a well-designed and bulletproof converter. If anyone out there could help I would really appreciate it.

Kendall

chasespeed

Explorer
Is the trans overdrive or not? That'll tell ya... OD, 700

Look at your shift indicator...

P R N OD 2 1 700R4
P R N D 2 1 T400 or T350

Chase

ntsqd

Heretic Car Camper
Is the Sub a 1500 or a 2500? That will also indicate which is more likely to be under there.

Look underneath for confirmation. The 700R4 pan gasket rail shape is rectangular. The TH400 pan gasket rail shape is anything but rectangular.
TH400 pan:
mrg-9762_w.jpg

If the converter is bad I would suggest having the trans gone thru while it is out, unless that was recently done by a reputable shop. Even then it may have had metal run through it due to the converter failing.

You might want to know about this company: http://www.bowtieoverdrives.com/index.shtml

Thanks for the replies,

I think that it is a 700r4 as you both have pointed out I do have overdrive and the bottom is defiantly square.