Fullsize Ford F250 Overlanding Camper project

Hey Everyone,

Another newbie here, I've been poking around for the past couple months and finally thought it was time to jump on board.

I have a 06 full size Ford but even though I've had the truck since late 05 I just recently started to built her for Overlanding and short to mid term camping. as for now not much has been done other then a couple external items but within the next couple months I plan to equip her with Air, Water, and Propane tanks including fittings, Camper shell roof rack as well as a second cab rack, lighting, carpet kit and basic shelving in the camper along with fridge and heater.

As can been seen the shell needs a new coat of paint which will be first on the agenda then its on to fabbing the racks then on the the interior. I'm also contemplating if I should OX the larger side windows on the shell and just keep the smaller side pop outs.

Last edited:

Ala5ka

VX'er
great looking FX4, kudos to the blue oval. I really like your plans, and I can't wait to see them come to fruition. I say keep the windows. maybe build some shades from curtain material and bungees.

blackmonte

Observer
Nice truck,
Hey can anyone explain why most Expedition trucks paint the wheels black?I did a search with no luck:beer:

jhdavis444

Nice truck by the way. We have similar ideas. I just wish my shell had the couple extra inches up top that yours does.

Thanks Everyone!

Ala5ka:
Yes I really like the color and have always been glad I went the Dark Blue route from the beginning as for the side windows I was thinking maybe blacking them out with Matt Black vinyl from the inside or like you mentioned putting together some kind of curtain system.

blackmonte:
Not sure why most Expedition trucks paint the wheels black... I actually Powder Coated my oem 17s Textured Black back in 05 just after I bought the truck.

jhdavis444: