Hand built hard-side, pop-up camper

Home Skillet

Observer
Hello all,

I actually started a post in the "Nissan" section of the forum awhile back with this build, but got really little interest (I think I picked the wrong section). So, I thought that starting a new thread here would be a better place.

I have been building a carbon fiber, built-on camper for my 2006 Nissan Titan. This project started in May of 2010 with design and specs and actual construction started in October of 2010.

The goal: A light-weight, tough, hard-sided, self-reliant, pop-up camper that would allow me and my capable Titan to go anywhere.

The construction is carbon fiber/foam laminate all hand built with a skim coat of polyester filler/primer and then professional auto quality primer, paint, and clear coat.

It has been a heck of a journey so far (and I am only half way done), but totally worth it.

Some of you may have been following me over at hookedupfilms.com, but I wanted to introduce the project here in hopes of some input as I move into the interior and systems part of the build. I really respect this community and its aggregate knowledge.

We are now working on the interior and I will be posting some more pics in the days to come.

The Foundation:
IMG_4073.jpg

The pre-built foam mold
IMG_4086.jpg

The aluminum support for the cabover
IMG_4088.jpg

The Carbon fiber on the foam
IMG_4165-300x200.jpg

The carbon fiber skin
IMG_4161-300x200.jpg

Back with door
IMG_4164-300x200.jpg

Right side with filler/primer
IMG_4193-300x200.jpg

Left side with filler/primer
IMG_4191-300x200.jpg

Painted camper shell on Titan
IMG_4209-300x200.jpg

Shot of the back
IMG_4211-300x200.jpg

Head on view with overhead lights pre-formed.
IMG_4214-300x200.jpg

5 months of weekend work to get to this point, minus some fishing days.
Total estimated weight: around 350-400 lbs.

Home Skillet

Last edited:

windsock

Adventurer