Leafspring Bushing slop

Chris_B

Hello,
I have a Samurai build I'm working on and I just recently got the lift kit I ordered from Rocky Road Outfitters in Utah. I got new springs and bushings and shackles and everything, but when I started putting everything together I noticed that the bushings they sent me for the big eye of the spring are a little too small, they have a diameter of 1 5/8" when the eye of the spring is about 1 11/16" to 1 3/4". I'm no expert but it seems to me they should fit tight, they are telling me it doesn't matter, just throw a bunch of grease in there. Is this safe? This board is very knowledgeable and your opinion would be appreciated.
Thanks

corax

Explorer
They shouldn't fit tight, especially if they're polyurethane, but there shouldn't be a bunch of slop either. I might call 1/16" acceptable, but not much more than that - they should slide in easily, but not wiggle around much

bob91yj

Resident **************
They don't sound correct to me. I've only had experience with Jeep leaf springs, but my bushing have always been a snug fit. Snug enough that they need a coating of grease to make them fit into the spring eye easier, but certainly not enough grease to HOLD them in!

Chris_B

Thanks guys that's what I figured, looks like it might be easier to try and source some bushings locally rather than deal with these fools. Wish me luck.

Scoutn79

Adventurer
Your right, the bushings are the wrong size. Poly bushings need some silicone grease and should be a snug fit. NO slop at all.
Darrell

Chris_B

Having no slop seems right but I went to the local spring shop and the guy there told me the bushings I had were alright, because they are a two piece design and because they dont go in the shackle end. So I thought I would put it all together and see how it handled, if there are problems I can always get something better fitting down the road.
But then, I encountered another problem related to the springs, there too short!
I think.