On board air fuse question

Fireman78

Expedition Leader
I am in the process of hooking up my on board air (finally), and have the compressor mounted in the bed of my truck. I am running the power wire from the battery with welding cable (#4 wire).. I want to do a fuse but I am not sure how to fuse it? Any help here? Pics/links?

Patman

Explorer
I run an appropriately sized resetable circuit breaker on mine. In my case 40 amp (QuickAir2)

Regular fuse should work fine, just carry a few spares, as it is easier to heat it up to the point of failure with the constant use a compressor can see.

Fireman78

Expedition Leader
I have very little ( like zero) knowledge of this, I don't know where to buy the "fuse" holder/fuse., at all, or how or where to place it in the line. What does this set up look like?

Patman

Explorer
As you haven't already bought a fuse setup, I would recommend going with a resetable circuit breaker. BlueSea makes some very nice units. The compressor mfg. Can provide the correct amp rating neccessary.

If you prefer a fuse, high end audio stuff is very often 4 ga. and easily sourced online, just remember to carry a spare or two.

As far as placement, accepted standard is to place the breaker/fuse as close to the battery as conveniently possible, thus protecting most of the circuit from short circuit.

So

Battery
Circuit breaker/fuse
Relay
Compressor

In that order.

Fireman78

Expedition Leader
I wish there was a book on automotive electronics. I want to do a fuse block/relay/blah blah , but I have no clue what i'm doing. I wish I could just pay someone to install it for me, but from what I've seen the places around ABQ are more into BIG LIFTS and TIRES and thats about it. I am almost to the point of driving to Prescott to get r done right.

Fireman78

Expedition Leader