Swingout tire carrier for the Eagle

Eaglefreek

Eagleless
I've wanted to do this for a few years now. I was carrying a fullsize spare on the roof rack but wanted to make an offroad bumper with a swingout carrier, recovery points and receiver hitch. This is my first attempt at metal fabrication. I bought a welder a few months ago and have been practicing with it. I started with a couple of clevis mounts from comp4x4.com and had them welded into a 2x6 rectangular tubing. I had that done at a welding shop since I wasn't comfortable welding the tubing to the 3/4" mounts. This project took a lot more time than I anticipated but I believe was worth the effort.
AMCEaglerearbumper1.gif

AMCEaglerearbumper2.jpg

AMCEaglerearbumper5.jpg

AMCEaglerearbumper6.jpg

Here's the pivot. A one inch solid bar was welded in to the rectangular tubing. I drilled a hole down the center and 2 cross way to make a path for grease. I drilled and tapped the bolt for a zerk fitting. I still need to add 2 bolts to the strap that is a stop for the swingout.
AMCEaglerearbumper3.jpg

Here is the T bolt I made to secure it.
AMCEAGLErearbumper4.jpg

Now I have to make a front bumper to match. :safari-rig:

bob91yj

Resident **************
Nice project! Love the car, I almost forgot those even existed!

My only concern is your hinge. If there is any "shake/vibration" at all going down the road, you may have issues with the hinge suffering metal fatigue and breaking. I've seen it happen with 1" trailer spindles are used as hinges.

DrMoab

Explorer
You don't have a write up anywhere about other modifications to your car do you?

I've always had a soft spot for them. Saw one on Pritchett canyon in Moab once with a solid front axle and 35's.

Eaglefreek

Eagleless
Nice project! Love the car, I almost forgot those even existed!