Really mini & removable toy hauler build

Blderman

Hi all,

I am new here, been lurking for about a week taking in ideas and figuring out which direction I want to go. I have to say there a lot of talented people on here with great ideas and craftsmanship. My ultimate desire is to a build a modest size trailer that will still be functional for light off road use (hunting areas, etc) However, at this time my budget will not allow it so I decided to use my existing platform as a "test" model. I have a snowbear 4x8 utility trailer that I will be using, the frame is fairly stout being .120x2x3 perimeter frame with .120x1x3 crosses. However, the tongue does not have braces back to the frame which is my only concern.....although I have been using it for 8 years and overloaded it many times without a problem. Anyhow, I am going to build it with a rear ramp so I can still load my quad in and a small side door. It will also be removable as I am building it as pod. I plan on attaching to the trailer via 1/2" bolts to some angle iron at the pod frame, not sure exactly how I am doing this yet. This will be a minimalist build since I plan on start my larger build this winter. I won't have electrical, power, water etc. Just basic interior paneling, some stick on LED lighting and VCT flooring. I could use some suggestions on the roofing and siding as I don't want to put too much money into it. I was thinking some roll-on rubber membrane for the roof and cheap sheet metal for the sides.....or just paint??

Attachments

• Photo Jun 27, 8 08 33 PM.jpg
    Photo Jun 27, 8 08 33 PM.jpg
    416.7 KB · Views: 32
  • Photo Jun 27, 8 08 51 PM.jpg
    Photo Jun 27, 8 08 51 PM.jpg
    409.8 KB · Views: 33
  • Photo Jun 27, 8 08 41 PM.jpg
    Photo Jun 27, 8 08 41 PM.jpg
    416.4 KB · Views: 51

Ozarker

Pontoon Admiral