Want to ride ,never have before, where to start?

Wander

Expedition Leader
As the title says I'm a total newb to motorcycles but I'd love to do an adventure ride in 5 or so years. Where do you start as a 40 year old father to learn to ride and eventually get to the point that you can handle a big ADV type bike. Some background, I raced road bikes (pedal kind) from 13-20 and still ride so I hope that will help me but I know it will be totally different with that much more power and weight. The dream is to do an extended, possibly even cross country ride. Silly question....all of the ADV type bikes I see look really tall and I see there are several saddle heights listed on the sites but the shortest I see is about 33 inches, what does someone with a 30 inch inseam do to be able to put down their feet at a light?

Last edited:

trailsurfer

Explorer
Started riding 4 years ago with no experience on a moto. First step is to take the Motorcycle Safety Course, which is the most important step. Once completed, get your license and start test riding bikes (friends, dealers, etc...).

Buy a used small engine (650 CC or less) dual sport, buy the best gear ( armored jacket, pants, and moto boots) and start riding. :bike_rider:

Pest

Adventurer
Is it very realistic to get a dual sport and ride 2 up with small backpacks on rough four wheel drive roads?

Is it very realistic to get a dual sport and ride 2 up with small backpacks on rough four wheel drive roads?

Not really.

Dump the backpacks for soft panniers, do it on a BIG dual sport, and have your pillion be of small stature and it's possible on anything but the most difficult 4x4 road.

Not that it's impossible, just that it's nearly unbearable.

Buy a used small engine (650 CC or less) dual sport, buy the best gear ( armored jacket, pants, and moto boots) and start riding. :bike_rider:

I suggest something in the 250-400 area. In fact, I almost wish I had a 400 for everything I don't do on the street.