Chevy/GMC wheel choice question

Antichrist

Expedition Leader
First, I'm a complete noob when it comes to Chevy's in spite of the fact my uncle was a, believe it or not, respected Chevy salesman.

My mom needs new tires on her 2005 Silverado 4WD 1500 Extended Cab w/8' bed.
It came with P265/70R17's and I'm thinking of suggesting switching to 16" wheels to save money on tires.
I've found a set of 6-bolt 16" steel wheels from a 2005 GMC pickup for $100 which seems like a decent deal as they are in good shape and include the lug nuts and center caps.

What I'm wondering is if they will clear the calipers. Definitely yes? Definitely no? Definitely maybe?

Normally I'd just test fit them but the truck is at my brother's (non-car guy) 3 states away and he needs to drive about and 45 min to get them.

If it helps, these are the wheels I'm considering
GMC-wheel.jpg

Thanks.

Last edited:

xpndbl3

Adventurer
Doubt 15" rims will fit and will cost more than the "savings" of swapping to smaller tires.

rxinhed

Dirt Guy
The 17s have been on the market long enough now to have equilibrated in price due to being a fairly common size.

What were you considering in 16s?

from what i've read on the tahoes, in 07 they went to 17 to clear the calipers. anything older than that should be able to clear 16's. just what i have read. no first hand experience.

Antichrist

Expedition Leader
The 17s have been on the market long enough now to have equilibrated in price due to being a fairly common size.

What were you considering in 16s?
I've looked at several just to get a sense of price difference.
Looking at same OD tire, but slightly narrower, but comparing same brand and tire, the 16's are anywhere from $25-$50 less than 17's.

I would think a 2005 GMC wheel would fit a 2005 Chevy, but like I said, they are new to me. The only GMC I've ever owned was a '53 deuce and a half. LOL

AA1PR

Disabled Explorer